Chronology Maps

1985 1986 1987

Click a section name to see full details and a map.

Completed Route Name Start End Original number
M25 Swanley - Chevening J3 Swanley J5 Chevening
B6601 Carnforth Link Kellet Road M6 J35 Carnforth A601(M)
M42 Lickey End - Portway J1 Lickey End J3 Portway
M42 Tamworth - Appleby Magna J10 Tamworth J11 Appleby Magna
M25 Chandlers Cross - Bricket Wood J19 Chandlers Cross J21A Bricket Wood
M74 Canderwater - Poniel Canderwater J11 Happendon
M25 Bricket Wood - Bignell’s Corner J21A Bricket Wood J23 Bignell’s Corner
A1(M) Hatfield Bypass J2 Roestock J4 Stanborough

In this section

What's new

Oxford's Ground Zero

Oxford's Zero Emission Zone is just a trial, but transport policy in Oxford has become the catalyst for pitched battles and drawn in protestors from across the UK. What's happening to this genteel university town?

2023 end of year message

It’s been a quiet year for, but we will be back to our usual schedule soon.

London’s other forgotten motorways

We’ve spent years documenting the unbuilt urban motorway network planned for London. Today we’re unveiling more new routes that have never been seen before!

Share this page

Have you seen...

M1 Architecture

The most unique motorway in Britain owes its identity to its fifties architecture. Much of it is in danger of being removed or irreperably altered. This page documents it in detail.